Key Stage 3

In Key Stage 3 we aim to combine and cover all areas of Computer Science and ICT, from digital literacy through to computational thinking. This is key in our aim for our students to have the skills to navigate through a digital world.


Many of the skills the pupils will encounter are key to learning, like problem solving and resilience and will help them to develop independence and employ logical enquiry to every area they encounter.


With computing and ICT now being so central to so many areas of our lives, and the increasing emphasis on IT in the primary curriculum, we hope to build on their knowledge to enable them to tackle the complexities of programming and the basics of systems architecture. They will approach this through projects involving spreadsheets and desktop publishing as well as learning coding and how the computer stores and processes data using this simple number system. Later, we will extend their experience of programming, using HTML to produce simple webpages as well as a unit dealing with cybersecurity to enable them to stay safe online.


Assessment will be through the development of an e-portfolio, with regular opportunities to apply their skills and knowledge. A summative assessment will be carried out four times per year that will test learning acquired through the most recent project as well as topics from previous terms in order to retain earlier learning so it can be built on and extended as the pupils progress through the school.

Year 7

-      Introduction to ICT at BYA

-      E-Safety

-      PowerPoint

-      Word

-      Excel

-      Rapid Router (Coding)


Year 8

-      E-Safety

-      Computational Thinking

-      Representations (from Clay to Silicon)

-      Mobile App Creation

-      Using Media

-      Introduction to Python


Year 9

-      Cybersecurity

-      Python (Coding)

-      Business Plan

-      Development of Website

-      Data Science

-      Python Programming

Key Stage 4

KS4 Digital Information Communication Technology

Course title and type of qualification: Vocational Award in Digital Information Technology


What will I learn?

The BTEC Technical Award in Digital InformationTechnology will assess the application of ICT skills through student’s practical use. It will provide students with essential knowledge, transferable skills and tools to enhance their employability when they leave education, contributing to their personal development and future economic well-being.Through this course, students will develop the knowledge, understanding and skills related to data management, data interpretation, data presentation and data protection.

This qualification will equip students with soundICT skills for everyday use and provide opportunities to develop in context those desirable, transferable skills such as planning, research and analysis.It will also challenge students, whatever your ability, by introducing them to demanding material and skills; encouraging independence and creativity; providing tasks that engage with the most taxing aspects of the National Curriculum, including data handling and modelling.

There is a significant amount of coursework in this course, which is ideal for pupils who excel at vocational skills. However, it is still academically challenging and needs excellent literacy skills in analysis and evaluation to achieve the higher grades.

How will I be assessed?

The BTEC Tech Award in Digital Information Technology consists of three modules:

  • Component 1 looks at interfaces, used to enable users of technology to easily access and navigate products. Internally assessed unit.
  • Component 2 enables the pupils to explore spreadsheets and create a dashboard that analyses the data. Internally assessed unit.
  • Component 3 is a written, externally assessed, examination lasting 1 ½ hours dealing with the theory behind digital literacy.  It is synoptic, which means it covers all areas of theory and practice studied over the whole course.


Internally assessed components are assessed using a grading scale ranging from Level 1 Pass to Level 2 Distinction. The externally assessed component is marked and awarded using grading descriptors set at Level 1 Pass to Level 2 Distinction. The overall point score will give an outcome from Level 1 pass to Level 2 Distinction*

What could I move onto?

Students who generally achieve at Level 2 across their Key Stage 4 learning might consider progression to:

  • A Level Computing/Computer Science
  • Study of a vocational qualification at Level 3, such as a BTEC National in IT, which prepares learners to enter employment or apprenticeships, or to move on to higher education by studying a degree in the digital sector.

Students who generally achieve at Level 1 across their Key Stage 4 learning might consider progression to:

  • Study at Level 2 post-16 IT
  • Study of IT Support or Digital Technology through the study of a Technical Certificate.

Students who perform strongly in this qualification compared to their overall performance should strongly consider this progression route as it can lead ultimately to employment in the digital sector.


Examination Board: BTEC/Edexcel, Pearson